Our History & Service Area

What we now recognize as United Way, began in 1887 when a woman, a priest, a rabbi, and two ministers
created an organization in Denver to collect funds for local charities. The first year, $21,700 was raised for 10
health and welfare organizations. And that was just the beginning.

In 1928, United Way of Dubuque Area Tri-States began its work as the Dubuque Community Chest. Citizens and 
civic organizations joined together under the principle that "individualism is a traditional characteristic of the American
people, but so is the spirit of teamwork pulling together for good causes."

At the time, Dubuque Community Chest was organized, there were only 350 Community Chests in the United States.
Today, there are more than 1,800 United Ways worldwide, and United Way of Dubuque Area Tri-States has gone from raising 
$65,000 annually to raising more than $1.5 million annually. 

Today, United Way of Dubuque Area Tri-States is still committed to the ideals of diversity and inclusion. We support health
and human service programs that address identified community needs and encourage collaboration. These initiatives
align with three pillars of health, education, and financial stability -- the building blocks of a good quality of life. 

Our mission - is to connect people and resources to advance the health, education, and income of those in need in our community. 

We serve the following communities in these counties:


Allamakee- Church, Egan, Frankville, Gunder, Harpers Ferry,
Junction, Lansing, Postville, Village Creek, Waterville, Waukon
Clayton- Clayton, Clayton Center, Communia, Edgewood,
Elkader, Elkport, Farmersburg, Froelich, Garber, Garnavillo,
Giard, Guttenberg, Hardin, Littleport, Luana, McGregor,
Marquette, Mederville, Millville, Monona, North Buena Vista,
Osborne, Rossville, Saint Olaf, Strawberry Point, Volga, Volney,
Delaware- Colesburg, Delaware, Delhi, Dutchtown, Dundee, Earlville,
Greeley, Hazel Green, Hopkinton, Manchester, Masonville, Oneida,
Sand Springs, Thorpe
Dubuque - Asbury, Bernard, Cascade, Dubuque, Durango,
Dyersville, Epworth, Farley, Holy Cross, Luxemburg, New Vienna, 
Peosta, Sherrill, Worthington, Zwingle
Fayette- Brainard, Clermont, Elgin, Wadena
Jackson- Andrew, Baldwin, Bellevue, Canton, Emeline, Fulton, 
Green Island, Hurstville, Iron Hills, La Motte, Maquoketa, Miles, 
Monmouth, Nashville, Sabula, Saint Donatus, Spragueville, Springbrook


Carroll- Savanna 
Jo Daviess- Council Hill, East Dubuque, Galena, Menominee, Scales Mound


Grant- Bagley, Beetown, Bloomington, Cassville, Cuba City, Dickeyville, Fenimore, 
Glen Haven, Hazel Green, Kieler, Lancaster, Mount Hope, Patch Grove, Potosi, 
Lafayette- Benton, Shullsburg